Skip to Content

Support Staff

Ben Abbott

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 14 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5245


Email:
ben-abbott@uiowa.edu


Andrew Awad

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: SHL: CIVIL


Email:
andrew-awad@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2010
BA,The University of Iowa,2010


Brandon Barquist

Shop Manager

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 5 Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: 384-3273


Email:
brandon-barquist@uiowa.edu


Jesse Bries

Electronics Shop Manager

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 4 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5004


Email:
jesse-bries@uiowa.edu


Austin Brockman

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Daniel Ceynar

Project Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 8 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5180


Email:
daniel-ceynar@uiowa.edu


Ryan Clark

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: 319) 335-4024


Email:
ryan-j-clark@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2003
MS,The University of Iowa,2006


Andy Craig

Hydraulic Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 3 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 384-2801


Email:
andy-craig@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2003
MS,The University of Iowa,2005


Research Areas
Physical hydraulic modeling
Fish passage
River engineering
Drop structures
Hydro-acoustics
Hydrographic survey

Sam Debionne

Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 323-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Email:
samuel-debionne@uiowa.edu


Education
MA,University of Grenoble,1989


Research Areas
Nutrient Project

Zachary Demanett

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
zachary-demanett@uiowa.edu


Melissa Eckrich

Accountant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-8 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5845


Email:
melissa-eckrich@uiowa.edu


Teresa Gaffey

Director of Finances and Human Resources, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107a Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 335-6166


Email:
teresa-gaffey@uiowa.edu


Education
MS,The University of Iowa,2003
BA,Central College,1992


Mike Gannon

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-1581


Email:
mike-gannon@uiowa.edu


Education
MS,Univeristy of Arizona,1987


Sandy Gerard

HR Administrator

College of Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5217


Email:
sandra-gerard@uiowa.edu


Daniel Gilles

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 353-0216


Email:
daniel-gilles@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2008
MS,The University of Iowa,2010


Research Areas
Eco-hydraulics

Radek Goska

Design Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 523F Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5235


Email:
radoslaw-goska@uiowa.edu


Education
MS,Warsaw University of Technology,2002


James Goss

ERD Welder

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: Shop Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-5249


Email:
james-goss-1@uiowa.edu


David Herwaldt

Creative Media Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-5 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5226


Email:
david-herwaldt@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,MIT,1979
MA,University of Iowa,2009


Nathan Holt

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4465


Email:
nathan-holt@uiowa.edu


Heather Hunter

Supply Chain Associate

University Shared Services


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-4827


Email:
heather-a-hunter@uiowa.edu


Ashlee Johannes

Communications Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1730


Email:
ashlee-johannes@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2014
MS,The University of Iowa,2016


Robert Johnson

Design Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 309 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: 467-1590


Email:
robert-a-johnson@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,1993


Phillip Kerr

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: 319) 335-1081


Email:
phillip-kerr@uiowa.edu


Jacob King

Application Developer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 334-6272


Email:
jacob-king@uiowa.edu


Education
BA,Kirkwood,2012


Jason Knox

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: Loft Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-6087


Email:
jason-knox@uiowa.edu


Research Areas
CAD designer/drafter

Carmen Langel

Director of Development and Communications, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


Managing Director, Iowa Flood Center

Iowa Flood Center


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107b Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 335-5841


Email:
carmen-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,University of Iowa,1990
MS,University of Iowa,1993


Rick Langel

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4102


Email:
richard-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
MS,The University of Iowa,1996


Paul Liu

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1586


Email:
huaibao-liu@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD,University of Nebraska - Lincoln,1994


Tony Loeser

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 309 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 353-0739


Email:
tony-loeser@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,University of Idaho,2006
MS,University of Idaho,2011


Troy Lyons

Director of Engineering Services, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 519 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5319


Email:
troy-lyons@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2001
MS,The University of Iowa,2002


Research Areas
Hydraulic structures
Hydropower
Fish passage improvement
River hydraulics
Physical modeling

Brian Miller

Senior Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423f Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5321


Email:
brian-s-miller@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: http://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/rcs

Connie Mutel

Senior Science Writer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423b Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5315


Email:
connie-mutel@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: http://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/connie-cornelia-f-mutel/

Education
BS,Oberlin College,1969
MS,University of Colorado,1973


Laura Myers

Administrative Services Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 335-5253


Email:
laura-l-myers@uiowa.edu


Robert Nace

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: HLMA:


Phone: (319) 335-5249


Email:
robert-r-nace@uiowa.edu


Jennie Portwood

Administrative Services Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 353-3742


Email:
jennifer-portwood@uiowa.edu


Eric Prill

Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423E Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 319) 335-6794


Email:
eric-prill@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2008


Angi Roemerman

Research Support Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-4 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5233


Email:
angela-roemerman@uiowa.edu


Andrew Roers

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
andrew-roers@uiowa.edu


Marcela Rojas Oliveros

Hydrologic Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 223-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Email:
marcela-rojasoliveros@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,Universidad Javeriana,2000
MS,Universidad Politecnica Catawnya,2008


Blake Rupe

Education Support Services Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1253 Seamans Center


Phone: (319) 335-5121


Email:
blake-rupe@uiowa.edu


Rick Saeugling

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: HLMA:


Phone: (319) 335-5245


Email:
richard-saeugling@uiowa.edu


Breanna Shea

Public Relations Coordinator

Iowa Flood Center


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1729


Email:
breanna-shea@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,Iowa State University,2014


Jesse Soukup

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
jesse-soukup@uiowa.edu


Thomas Stoeffler

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Email:
thomas-stoeffler@uiowa.edu


Jackie Stolze

Lead Communication Specialist, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-6 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6410


Email:
jackie-stolze@uiowa.edu


Education
BA,The University of Iowa,1985
MA,Nonfiction Writing Workshop,1987


Matthew Streeter

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
matthew-streeter@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,Iowa State University,2010
MA,Iowa State University,2013


Stephanie Surine

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340B Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-3679


Email:
stephanie-tassier-surine@uiowa.edu


Education
MS,University of Massachusetts,1999


Rosemary Tiwari

Research Support Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 384-0611


Email:
rosemary-tiwari@uiowa.edu


Jason Vogelgesang

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4231


Email:
jason-vogelgesang@uiowa.edu


Education
BS,The University of Iowa,2004


Megan Watson

Supply Chain Associate

University Shared Services


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 319) 335-5272


Email:
megan-watson@uiowa.edu


Education
BA,The University of Iowa,2007


Michelle Wienhold

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
michelle-wienhold@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD,University of Central Lancashire,2014
BA,University of Iowa,2000
MS,University College London,2008


Deb Williard

EES Laboratory Director

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 4105 Seamans Center


Phone: (319) 384-2051


Email:
deborah-williard@uiowa.edu


Mark Wilson

Director of Research Computing, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423A Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: 335-5223


Email:
mark-wilson@uiowa.edu


Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design