Skip to Content

April, May, and June 2013

Bill Eichinger named the 2013 Faculty Hancher Finkbine Medallion recipient.

Eichinger’s special fields of knowledge lie in hydrology and fluid mechanics in the environment; atmospheric pollution control and remediation; optical remote sensing; Lidar (laser radar); and nuclear physics.  His present research interests are in development of wind lidar capability; flow and emissions from confined animal facilities, long range transport from urban areas, and development of the boundary layer.

To recognize leadership, learning, and loyalty, the tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine Medallions was established in 1964. They are named for the founder of the Finkbine Dinner, William O. Finkbine, and for Virgil M. Hancher, a student guest at the first dinner who served for 24 years as president of the University, and who, to an unusual degree, exemplified the three characteristics for which the awards are given.


 Anton Kruger named Donald E. Bently Faculty Fellow in Engineering in recognition of his achievements in research and teaching.

University of Iowa Engineering graduate Donald E. Bently, a globally recognized authority on rotor dynamics, as well as vibration monitoring and diagnostics, created the fellowship with his gift to the UI Foundation in 2002. The fund establishes a permanent endowment with the annual spendable earnings used to support the college’s academic and research pursuits.


Fred Stern appointed the George D. Ashton Professor of Hydroscience and Engineering at the University of Iowa

Stern is world renowned for his teaching and research in computational and experimental fluid dynamics and ship hydrodynamics. To read more about Stern’s appointment and career, visit: Stern Named Ashton Professor.


Funding Awards and Renewals:

Witold Krajewski was awarded new funding of $30,000 from Iowa State University for “Iowa Daily Erosion Project (IDEP): Second Generation.”


Troy Lyons, Jacob Odgaard, and Andy Craig were awarded supplemental funding of $190,479 from CH2M Hill for “Thames Tunnel — Physical Model Studies-CSO (Ranelagh, Heathwall, King George, Putney).”


Troy Lyons, along with Andy Craig and Jacob Odgaard, was awarded additional funding of $120,000 from Greeley and Hansen LLC for “Task Order #4: Hydraulic Physical Model Studies for Drop Structures (District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority: Anacostia River Project CSO Facility Plan.”


Marcela Politano was awarded new funding of $56,072 from Oak Ridge National Laboratory for “Development of TDG Representative Equations for an Integrated System-Wide Modeling Framework for TDG Spill Management.”


Marcela Politano, Larry Weber, and Troy Lyons were awarded supplemental funding of $37,844 from Tacoma Public Utilities for “Cushman Dam: Computation of Spillway Discharge.”


Mark Wilson, director of research computing at IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, has received a $12,022 contract from Exelon  Generation Co., LLC.  Wilson will provide maintenance of a daily “River Data Report” data acquisition system.


Connie Mutel was awarded new funding of $30,000 from CGRER for “Completing a Climate-Change Memoir for a General Audience.”


Jacob Odgaard and Troy Lyons were awarded $7,642 from Hatch Mott MacDonald I & E LLC for “IIHR Review of ECT and Mid Halton Drop Structures.”



Bottom velocity computation method to compute sediment transport
Presented by: Tatsuhiko Uchida, Chuo University


Submerged Rock Structures
Presented By: Christine Sindelar, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna)


Flood Disaster Recovery: The Experience from Mississippi’s Gulf Coast and the New Jersey Shore
Presented by: Susan L. Cutter, Carolina Distinguished Professor and Director, Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute


Techniques for Developing Discharge Ratings by the U.S. Geological Survey and Adjustments During Dynamic Control Conditions
Presented by: Jon F. Nania, Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey – Iowa Water Science Center


India Winterim Program
Presented by: Participant students in the 2012-13 India Course


Raindrop size and shape measurements at the 10-second resolution using a single camera disdrometer: SCD
Presented by: Gilles Molinié, LTHE, Université Joseph Fourier


Iowa City, Burlington Dam Project
Presented by:  Rick McLaughlin, P.E., McLaughlin Whitewater Design Group


Last modified on July 16th, 2013
Posted on May 20th, 2013

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design