Skip to Content

January, February, and March 2013


Ching-Long Lin Elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows

Congratulations to IIHR Research Engineer Ching-Long Lin, who has been elected and inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows. Lin, who is also a professor of mechanical and industrial engineering, was honored for his contributions in the fields of multiscale high-fidelity imaging-based modeling and high-performance parallel computation and simulation of biological systems. For more, visit “IIHR Researcher Elected AIMBE Fellow” on the IIHR website.


Chris Wilson has been selected as a 2012 Journal of Environmental Quality (JEQ) Outstanding Reviewer. He was honored for his comprehensive, thorough, and fair-minded reviews, which allows JEQ to maintain its high standards and international stature. In recognition of this honor, Wilson will receive a certificate from ASA-CSSA-SSSA and a $75 cash award. He will be featured in an article in CSA News with the five other 2012 JEQ Outstanding Reviewers.


 Funding Awards and Renewals:

Witold Krajewski was awarded $48,570 from the National Science Foundation for “RAPID: IFloodS Field Campaign in Iowa.”


Nathan Young and Jesse Piotrowski were awarded new funding of $11,922 from HDR Engineering for “Ames Flood Mitigation Study.”


Marian Muste was awarded new funding of $48,302 from the U.S. Geological Survey (primary sponsor) for “Assessment of the Significance and Uncertainty Produced by Hysteresis in Index-Velocity Rating Curves (I-VRC).”


Troy Lyons, Jacob Odgaard, and Andy Craig were awarded new funding of $295,804.48 from CH2M Hill for “Thames Tunnel — Physical Model Studies-CSO (Ranelagh, Heathwall, King George, Putney).”


Fred Stern was awarded new funding of $100,000 from the U.S. Department of Defense (with IIHR serving as a subaward under the University of Michigan) for “Local-Flow Measurements for Free-Running/Captive Model Maneuvers in IIHR Wave Basin/Towing Tank with Integrated CFD.”


Witold Krajewski was awarded new funding of $72,000 for a collaborative project with James Smith of Princeton University from NASA for “Data-Based Hydrologic Validation of GPM Rainfall Products.”  If awarded in full, this project will total $360,000.


Thanos Papanicolaou, Chris Wilson, and Filippo Bressan were awarded new funding of $73,653 from the Iowa Department of Transportation for “Development of a Subgrade Drainage Model for Unpaved Roads.”


David Cwiertny was awarded supplemental funding of $40,988 from the National Science Foundation for “GRDS: CAREER: Hybrid Nanostructures as Catalysts for Advanced Oxidation Processes: An Integrated Research and Education Plan Promoting Water Reuse and Sustainability.”


Andy Craig was awarded new funding of $15,700 from the University of Maryland for “Design of a Towing Tank Basin and Actuated Water Jet Array System for the University of Maryland’s Department of Aerospace Engineering.”


Witold Krajewski, Ibrahim Demir, and Dan Ceyner were awarded new funding of $35,000 ($70,000 if paid in full) from NASA for “Logistical and Resource Support for the Iowa Flood Studies (IFloodS) Campaign for GPM.”


Troy Lyons, Jacob Odgaard, and Andy Craig were awarded new funding of $250,000 from DLZ Ohio Inc. for “Physical Modeling of Baffle Drop Structures for the City of Akron, Ohio.”


Michelle Scherer was awarded new funding of $60,000 from the U.S. Department of Energy for “Mechanisms of Interfacial Reactivity in Near Surface and Extreme Geochemical Environments.” This grant will total $180,000 over three years if awarded in full.


Sarah Vigmostad was awarded new funding of $25,000 from the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Funding Program (MPSFP) for “Can Computational Biomechanics Guide Mitral Valve Repair?”


Adam Ward was awarded new funding of $56,665 from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (prime sponsor: NSF) for “RAPID: Using a Drought-Enhanced Nitrate Pulse to Understand Stream N Retention and Processing.”


Larry Weber and Troy Lyons were awarded supplemental funding of $33,648 from McMillen LLC for “Box Canyon Dam — TDG Gate Operations Hydraulic Model Evaluation.”


 In Memoriam

It is with sadness that we report the death of two members of the IIHR family, Margaret Petersen and Anna Odgaard.

IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering alumna Margaret Petersen died on Jan. 18, 2013, in Tucson, Ariz., at the age of 92. Professor Petersen was renowned as a very capable hydraulic engineer in the mid-1900s, when it was uncommon for women to be involved in engineering. She remained professionally involved in her field and in the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) throughout her 55-year career. That career began in 1942 when she joined the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (COE) in Rock Island. She then returned to the University of Iowa (UI), receiving a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering in 1947 and a master’s degree in mechanics and hydraulics in 1953. She remained with the COE for nearly four decades, during which time she dealt with the design of hydraulic structures, channel hydraulics, water resource planning, and related subjects. She held increasingly responsible posts and worked on some of the nation’s largest water projects, including Mississippi River flood control and navigation efforts, Missouri River storage reservoirs, and the Arkansas River navigation project.

In 1980, Ms. Petersen became a professor of engineering at the University of Arizona. Here she developed new graduate coursework in hydraulic engineering, wrote the well-known textbook River Engineering (1986), and became an invited lecturer and consultant in several foreign countries. She was named professor emerita in 1991, but did not fully retire from teaching until 1997. She was known as an influential mentor and supportive sounding board who was tremendously loyal to her students and also brought a practical, applied side to water engineering. She endowed two scholarships at the University of Iowa for female engineering undergraduates.

Professor Petersen was an honorary member of ASCE (1991); she received the ASCE’s Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award (2001) and its Environmental and Water Resources Institute’s first Lifetime Achievement Award (2002). The latter institute also established the Margaret Petersen Outstanding Woman of the Year Award in Petersen’s honor. Professor Petersen received the UI’s Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award in 1987, and she was inducted into the UI College of Engineering’s Distinguished Alumni Honor Wall in 1996.

* * *

Anna Odgaard, wife of IIHR Research Engineer Jacob Odgaard, died on Jan. 29, 2013, at her home in Iowa City. A native of Chicago, she attended Lake Forest College, and later studied at Copenhagen University in Denmark. She went on to obtain residency in Denmark, where she taught English and Danish. She met Jacob in Copenhagen and they married in Chicago in 1978 and had two children, Peter and Christel. While raising her family, Anna continued teaching; she particularly enjoyed teaching English as a Second Language. Anna loved traveling and the study of languages.  Art and history were also among her interests, in particular European and Russian art and history. Despite failing health, in the last few years of her life, Anna traveled with Peter and Christel to Europe, Puerto Rico, and Mexico. She and Jacob traveled together to Europe, Singapore, and Russia.

She was preceded in death by her parents Nell and John Rogers and is survived by her husband Jacob and daughter Christel and son Peter.

All of us at IIHR extend our sincerest sympathies to the family and friends of Margaret and Anna.


Last modified on July 16th, 2013
Posted on March 29th, 2013

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design