Skip to Content

June 2010

Staff News

  • We are pleased to announce that Witold Krajewski, Rose and Joseph Summers Chair in Water Resources Engineering, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and director of the Iowa Flood Center at IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, is the recipient of the 2010 Iowa Board of Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. (more)
  • One June 10, 2010, KCRG-TV aired To the Point with Beth Malicki, which looked at the causes of the floods of 2008 and what is being done now to prevent a repeat. Connie Mutel, editor of A Watershed Year, was interviewed. The book takes an in-depth look at the causes of the 2008 flood and ways to manage the floods of the future. The program is available online.
  • In June, UI Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering Jerry Schnoor and two students traveled to the Louisiana marshlands, which were heavily affected by the British Petroleum (BP) oil spill. They were conducting research in collaboration with Louisiana State University Professor Eugene Turner. Schnoor said that should the marshlands die from oil toxicity, he and the students (Aaron Gwinnup and Elliott Beenk) are conducting studies to determine if the marshes could be replanted and restored using native plants. “We will use grasses native to Louisiana to restore the natural structure and function of the ecosystem,” he said. To obtain the data, the researchers must collect three compulsory samples: a pure oil sample from BP, a contaminated marsh sample, and a pure marsh sample, said Beenk. These samples will be shipped back to the W.M. Keck Phototechnology Laboratory in the Seamans Center. The researchers will test the efficacy of the plant, spartina alterniflora, in biodegrading the oil gathered in the marshlands. (More Coverage:  University News, KCRG-TV News)


  • Doug Houser (24 years) retired on June 18. Doug started working at the University of Iowa and IIHR in August 1986.
  • Steve Laszczak (37 years) retired on June 4. Steve started working at the University of Iowa in November 1973 and with IIHR in August 1990.


Funding Awards and Renewals

  • Jerry Schnoor was awarded an NSF grant totaling $249,434 for “Collaborative Research: The Role of Plants in the Environmental Fate of Growth Promoters and Antibiotics Used in Concentrated Animal Feed Operations.”
  • Witold Krajewski, Anton Kruger, and Dan Ceynar were awarded a $175,000 contract by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources for “Pilot Project for Bridge-Mounted Stream-Level Sensors in Iowa.”  This project involves the bridge-mounted stream stage sensors developed by the Iowa Flood Center.
  • Bill Eichinger was awarded a subcontract for $99,926 from Ohio State University (prime sponsor: USDA) for “Near Source Dispersion of PM from AFOs—Incorporating the Explicit Effects of Windbreaks, Fences, and Building for Design of Dispersion Mitigation.”
  • Andy Craig was awarded a contract for $8,250 from Nelson Energy, Inc. for “Studies Required for Licensing of the Red River Lock and Dam Nos. 4 and 5 Hydroelectric Projects.”
  • H.S. Udaykumar was awarded a supplement of $37,497 by the U.S. Department of Defense, Air Force. for his project titled, “High-Accuracy, Efficient Eulerian Methodology for Three-Dimensional High-Speed Material Response.”


Alumni News

S.K. Nanda (MS ’68) was inducted into the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy during the college’s spring alumni reunion dinner held Saturday, June 12. He was recognized for distinguished contributions to water resources engineering technology, especially in developing large-scale watershed modeling and real-time management. He served as principal hydraulic engineer, chief of hydrology, and the hydraulics branch of the Rock Island Branch of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. His work in water resources remote-sensing technology resulted in the receipt of 10 engineering technical letters. He represents the U.S. Army Corps on the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Hydrological Sciences and has served on the college’s Advisory Board.

Last modified on January 12th, 2012
Posted on May 5th, 2011

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design