Skip to Content

May/June 2011

Faculty Award:

Thanos Papanicolaou was recently named a Distinguished Iowa Scientist by the Iowa Academy of Science (2011).  He was recognized in a ceremony held at Wartburg College on April 29th for his work in upland erosion and watershed studies related to agriculture in Iowa.

A. Allen Bradley received the Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching!
Allen has taught courses across the engineering curriculum, including upper level courses, required major courses, and engineering core courses. By the second week of classes, he knows the names and faces of students in his classes, an impressive accomplishment when considering that EPS I has over 200 students in multiple lecture and lab sections. One student wrote, “Professor Bradley…is genuinely concerned whether students understand the material presented and will take time out of his day to sit down with you and help you.”

Three IIHR staff members received longevity awards.

Serving the college for five years:
Manivannan Kandasamy
Andrew Craig

Serving the college for 15 years:
Marian V. Muste

Student Awards:

Brad Reuter was selected to receive an Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduates (ICRU) Research Fellowship.  The award will provide $2,500 toward tuition next year.  Brad was also awarded the James L. Shive Memorial scholarship for 2011-2012.  This award includes a $1,000 scholarship.

Sean Plenner was awarded the John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship for the 2011-2012 academic year.  This award comes with a $1,500 scholarship.

Alumni Award:

Dr. Gokhan Kirkil (IIHR alum and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, CA), Dr. George S. Constantinescu, and Dean and Prof. Robert Ettema (University of Wyoming) were awarded the  Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Prize at a recent ASCE/EWRI  National Conference.  The Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Prize recognizes a paper that is judged to be of superior merit in dealing with a problem of flowing water, either in theory or in practice.  Their paper is:  “Detached Eddy Simulation Investigation of Turbulence at a Circular Pier with Scour Hole,” Journal of Hydraulic Engineering, Vol. 135, No. 11, Nov. 2009.


Funding Awards and Renewals:

Pablo Carrica was awarded a new NSF grant for $101,299 for his project titled, “Collaborative Research: Simulation Based Design for Deep Water Offshore Wind Turbines Including Wave Loads and Motions.”

Thanos Papanicolaou and Chris Wilson were awarded a new contract for $49,938 with Van Buren County, Iowa for his project titled, “Hydraulic Design of Streambank Protection Structures along the Des Moines River.”

Troy Lyons and Jacob Odgaard were awarded $16,319 in supplemental funding from Greely and Hanson for “Task Order No 2: Hydraulic Physical Model Studies for Drop Structures (District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority: Anacostia River Project CSO Facility Plan).”

Nate Young was awarded a $1,946 contract with Engineering Partners, Inc. for “Simulation of Historical Water Surface Elevations on the Iowa River in Iowa City, Iowa.”

Marcela Politano has received a $17,000 research contract from Idaho Power Company.  Politano will study 3D modeling of a deep water pump in the Brownlee Reservoir, the largest of three dams in the Hells Canyon Complex in Idaho.



  • May 5, 2011: Lichuan Gui, Scientist II and Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
    The University of Mississippi, presented: Stereo High-Speed Imaging for 3D Motion Tracking.
  • May 13, 2011: Scott Hagen,Associate Professor of Civil Engineering, Director, Coastal Hydroscience Analysis, Modeling and Predictive Simulations Lab, presented: Ecological Effects of Sea Level Rise – Northern Gulf of Mexico.
  • June 9, 2011: Dr. Carolyn Davis, presented: Biogeophysics.
Last modified on June 29th, 2011
Posted on May 17th, 2011

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design