Skip to Content

Eichinger Awarded Hancher-Finkbine Medal

Posted on May 8th, 2013
Bill Eichinger (right) accepts the Hancher-Finkbine Medal from University of Iowa President Sally Mason.

Bill Eichinger (right) accepts the Hancher-Finkbine Medal from University of Iowa President Sally Mason.

Leadership, learning, and loyalty — for his exceptional embodiment of these three characteristics, IIHR Research Engineer William E. Eichinger has been named the 2013 Faculty Hancher-Finkbine Medallion recipient. Eichinger received the honor at the annual Finkbine Dinner on April 9.

Eichinger, who is also the William D. Ashton Professor of Civil Engineering and a professor of civil and environmental engineering, has research interests focusing on hydrology and fluid mechanics in the environment, atmospheric pollution control and remediation, optical remote sensing, LiDAR (laser radar), and nuclear physics. His present research interests are in development of wind LiDAR capability, flow and emissions from confined animal facilities, long-range transport from urban areas, and development of the boundary layer.

Eichinger leads a team of student researchers who use LiDAR to measure emissions near large livestock confinement facilities. His students speak enthusiastically about Eichinger’s informal, collaborative leadership style. Recent graduate Brad Barnhart says, “Bill is a great mentor. He lets students choose their projects and allows them the time needed. We have very few rules. We’re not required to stay late, or even stay for set hours. This puts the responsibility in our hands. We do our work because we love to do it, not because we have to.”

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine Medallions was established in 1964 to recognize exceptional leadership, learning, and loyalty. The medallion is named for the founder of the Finkbine Dinner, William O. Finkbine, and for Virgil M. Hancher, a student guest at the first dinner, who later served as president of the University of Iowa, and who, to an unusual degree, exemplified the three characteristics for which the awards are given.

Tags: , , , , ,

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design