IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering is a  diverse community of faculty members, professional staff, postdoctoral scholars, students, and visitors—all sharing a common interest in fluids-related research. IIHR’s unique and inclusive culture often fosters lifelong friendships, inspiring many to compare it to a family.

IIHR faculty affiliates and research scientists/engineers represent many departments across the University of Iowa campus:

  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Chemical and Biochemical Engineering
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Geographical and Sustainable Sciences
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Occupational and Environmental Health
  • Statistics and Actuarial Science
  • Chemistry
  • Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Political Science

IIHR has about 90 MS and PhD graduate student affiliates and postdoctoral scholars representing most of the academic fields listed above. In fall 2023, a snapshot of this diverse group included students from:

  • 15 different countries
  • 24 MS and 63 PhD
  • 66% men and 34% women
Students on a research boat

About 60 professional staff members also conduct research and support IIHR research. They offer expertise in:

  • Diverse engineering fields (hydraulics, hydrology, environmental, electrical, computational, etc.)
  • Geology
  • Remote sensing and data management
  • Research computing
  • Mechanical and engineering shops
  • Communications and outreach
  • Accounting
  • Grants and contracts

The IIHR Advisory Board that meets annually to review and offer guidance on IIHR research foci and operations. IIHR’s current advisory board members are:

  • Rafael L. Bras (202226)
    School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • David A. Drazen (2022–26)
    Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division
  • Martin Irvine (2022–26)
    Commander Submarine Forces, Submarine Forces
  • Hugh J. Roberts (2020–24)
    The Water Institute of the Gulf
  • Martin Teal (2023-27)
    WEST Consultants Inc.
  • Kathleen White (2020–24)
    U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • Gabriel Vecchi (2020–24)
    Department of Geosciences, Princeton University
  • Yong Lai (2024-28)
    Bureau of Reclamation

Ex Officio Members:

  • Ann McKenna
    Dean, College of Engineering, University of Iowa
  • Larry Weber
    Director, IIHR, University of Iowa 
  • Troy Lyons
    Associate Director, IIHR, University of Iowa
  • Teresa Gaffey
    Director of Finance and Business Operations, IIHR, University of Iowa
Zoom screen shot of 2020 IIHR Advisory Board meeting
2020 Zoom Advisory Board Meeting
A group of men and women in front of a red brick building
2019 Advisory Board Meeting
A group of men and women pose on the terrace of Stanley Hydraulics Lab
2018 Advisory Board Meeting