Skip to Content

IIHR Advisory Board

A group of people post on the terrace near IIHR.

The IIHR Advisory Board met on the University of Iowa campus in October 2018.

The IIHR Advisory Board affords a medium through which the IIHR director and staff can obtain advice and counsel concerning their programs and plans, both short- and long-term, from interested persons in touch with the world of engineering education, research, and practice. The board provides a select audience for reports of IIHR’s activities and accomplishments, and helps IIHR design and execute its programs in an effective manner. The board gives advice on opportunities and effective strategies for generating private and public financial support of IIHR programs. IIHR Advisory Board members generally serve a five-year term.

Advisory Board Members

Dr. Scott C. Hagen (2014–18)

Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering / Center for Computation & Technology
Louisiana State University

Dr. Thad Michael (2016–20)

U.S. Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division

Dr. Pedro Restrepo (2016–20)

National Weather Service/NOAA (Retired)

Brennan Smith (2015–19)

Energy-Water Resource Systems Group
        Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Martin Teal (2018–22)

Senior Vice President
WEST Consultants Inc.

Dr. Lawrence Tarasek

Technical Director
Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division

Dr. Peter Vikesland (2018–22)

Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Virginia Tech University

Dr. Jinn-Chuang Yang (2014–18)

Director, Disaster Prevention & Water Environment Research Center
National Chiao Tung University

Ex Officio Members:

Dr. Alec Scranton

College of Engineering, University of Iowa

Dr. Gabriele Villarini

IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, University of Iowa

Carmen Langel

Director of Development and Communications
IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, University of Iowa
Tags: , , ,
Last modified on October 31st, 2018
Posted on June 8th, 2010

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design