Skip to Content

Support Staff

Ben Abbott

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 14 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-6088


Email:
ben-abbott@uiowa.edu


Brandon Barquist

Shop Manager

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 5 Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 384-3273


Email:
brandon-barquist@uiowa.edu


Austin Brockman

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Daniel Ceynar

Project Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 8 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5180


Email:
daniel-ceynar@uiowa.edu


Ryan Clark

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-4024


Email:
ryan-j-clark@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2003
MS, The University of Iowa, 2006


Collin Davis

Marketing and Business Development Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-5 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 467-0243


Email:
collin-davis@uiowa.edu


Zachary Demanett

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
zachary-demanett@uiowa.edu


Suzanne Doershuk

Pre-Award Grant Specialist/Research Support Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-0701


Email:
suzanne-doershuk@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, Carleton College, 1981


Melissa Eckrich

Accountant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-8 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5845


Email:
melissa-eckrich@uiowa.edu


Teresa Gaffey

Director of Finances and Human Resources, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107a Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6166


Email:
teresa-gaffey@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, The University of Iowa, 2003
BA, Central College, 1992


Mike Gannon

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-1581


Email:
mike-gannon@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,
MS, Univeristy of Arizona, 1987


Sandy Gerard

HR Administrator

College of Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5217


Email:
sandra-gerard@uiowa.edu


Kate Giannini

Iowa Watershed Approach Communications Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-4 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5233


Email:
kate-giannini@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Upper Iowa University, 2006


Daniel Gilles

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-4 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 353-0216


Email:
daniel-gilles@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2008
MS, The University of Iowa, 2010


Research Areas
Ecohydraulics

Radek Goska

Design Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 523C Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5235


Email:
radoslaw-goska@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, Warsaw University of Technology, 2002


James Goss

ERD Welder

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: Shop Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-5249


Email:
james-goss-1@uiowa.edu


Raymond Hammond

Application Programmer/Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 323-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Email:
raymond-hammond@uiowa.edu


Nathan Holt

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4465


Email:
nathan-holt@uiowa.edu


Heather Hunter

Supply Chain Associate

University Shared Services

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-4827


Email:
heather-a-hunter@uiowa.edu


Ashlee Johannes

Communications Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1730


Email:
ashlee-johannes@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2014
MS, The University of Iowa, 2016


Phillip Kerr

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1081


Email:
phillip-kerr@uiowa.edu


Lexie King

Application Developer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6272


Email:
lexie-king@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, Kirkwood, 2012


Jason Knox

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: Loft Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-6087


Email:
jason-knox@uiowa.edu


Research Areas
CAD designer/drafter

Carmen Langel

Director of Development and Communications, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


Managing Director, Iowa Flood Center

Iowa Flood Center

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107b Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5841


Email:
carmen-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 1990
MS, The University of Iowa, 1993


Rick Langel

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4102


Email:
richard-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, The University of Iowa, 1996


Paul Liu

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1586


Email:
huaibao-liu@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 1994


Tony Loeser

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 309 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 353-0739


Email:
tony-loeser@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, University of Idaho, 2006
MS, University of Idaho, 2011


Troy Lyons

Director of Engineering Services, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 519 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5319


Email:
troy-lyons@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2001
MS, The University of Iowa, 2002


Research Areas
Hydraulic structures
Hydropower
Fish passage improvement
River hydraulics
Physical modeling

Jason McCurdy

Research Assistant / Environmental Field Tech

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Email:
jason-mccurdy@uiowa.edu


Education
MA, The University of Iowa, 2016
BA, The University of Iowa,


Brian Miller

Senior Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423f Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5321


Email:
brian-s-miller@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: https://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/rcs

Connie Mutel

Senior Science Writer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5315


Email:
connie-mutel@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: https://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/connie-cornelia-f-mutel/

Education
BS, Oberlin College, 1969
MS, University of Colorado, 1973


Laura Myers

Administrative Services Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5253


Email:
laura-l-myers@uiowa.edu


Robby Nace

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: HLMA:


Phone: (319) 384-2017


Email:
robert-r-nace@uiowa.edu


Diem Nguyen

Electrical Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 17 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5758


Email:
diem-t-nguyen@uiowa.edu


Jennie Portwood

Business Analysis Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107 - 2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 353-3742


Email:
jennifer-portwood@uiowa.edu


Eric Prill

Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423E Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6794


Email:
eric-prill@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2008


Felipe Quintero Duque

Assistant Research Scientist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 323-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1727


Email:
felipe-quintero@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD, Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, 2011


Marcela Rojas Oliveros

Hydrologic Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 223-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Email:
marcela-rojasoliveros@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Universidad Javeriana, 2000
MS, Universidad Politecnica Catawnya, 2008


Blake Rupe

Education Support Services Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1253 Seamans Center


Phone: (319) 335-5121


Email:
blake-rupe@uiowa.edu


Rick Saeugling

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: HLMA:


Email:
richard-saeugling@uiowa.edu


Breanna Shea

Public Relations Coordinator

Iowa Flood Center

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-7 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1729


Email:
breanna-shea@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Iowa State University, 2014


Jesse Soukup

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
jesse-soukup@uiowa.edu


Zeb Squires

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
zeb-squires@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,


Thomas Stoeffler

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Email:
thomas-stoeffler@uiowa.edu


Jackie Stolze

Lead Communication Specialist, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-6 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6410


Email:
jackie-stolze@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, The University of Iowa, 1985
MA, Nonfiction Writing Workshop, 1987


Matthew Streeter

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
matthew-streeter@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Iowa State University, 2010
MA, Iowa State University, 2013


Stephanie Surine

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340B Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-3679


Email:
stephanie-tassier-surine@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, University of Massachusetts, 1999


Rosemary Tiwari

Research Support Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
rosemary-tiwari@uiowa.edu


Sherry Torres

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 309 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
sherry-torres@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, The University of Iowa, 2012


Jason Vogelgesang

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4231


Email:
jason-vogelgesang@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2004
MS, The University of Iowa, 2017


Megan Watson

Supply Chain Associate

University Shared Services

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5272


Email:
megan-watson@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, The University of Iowa, 2007


Michelle Wienhold

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
michelle-wienhold@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD, University of Central Lancashire, 2014
BA, The University of Iowa, 2000
MS, University College London, 2008


Deb Williard

EES Laboratory Director

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 4105 Seamans Center


Phone: (319) 384-2051


Email:
deborah-williard@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,


Mark Wilson

Director of Research Computing, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423A Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5223


Email:
mark-wilson@uiowa.edu


Sung-hwan Yoon

Assistant Research Scientist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 223B-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-2191


Email:
sung-hwan-yoon@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Seoul National University, 2000
MS, Seoul National University, 2005
PhD, Seoul National University, 2011


Research Areas
CFD, Higher-order Accurate Method, Overset Mesh Technique, Adaptive Mesh Refinement

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design