Skip to Content

Support Staff

Ben Abbott

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 14 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-6088


Email:
ben-abbott@uiowa.edu


Brandon Barquist

Shop Manager

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 5 Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 384-3273


Email:
brandon-barquist@uiowa.edu


Austin Brockman

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Email:
austin-brockman@uiowa.edu


Daniel Ceynar

Project Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 8 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5180


Email:
daniel-ceynar@uiowa.edu


Ryan Clark

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-4024


Email:
ryan-j-clark@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2003
MS, The University of Iowa, 2006


Collin Davis

Business Development and Proposal Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-5 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 467-0243


Email:
collin-davis@uiowa.edu


Suzanne Doershuk

Pre-award Grants and Contracts Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-0701


Email:
suzanne-doershuk@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, Carleton College, 1981


Melissa Eckrich

Senior Accountant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-8 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5845


Email:
melissa-eckrich@uiowa.edu


Teresa Gaffey

Director of Finance and Business Operations, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107a Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6166


Email:
teresa-gaffey@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, The University of Iowa, 2003
BA, Central College, 1992


Mike Gannon

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-1581


Email:
mike-gannon@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,
MS, Univeristy of Arizona, 1987


Sandy Gerard

Program Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5217


Email:
sandra-gerard@uiowa.edu


Kate Giannini

Iowa Watershed Approach Communications Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-4 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5233


Email:
kate-giannini@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Upper Iowa University, 2016


Daniel Gilles

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 323-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 353-0216


Email:
daniel-gilles@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2008
MS, The University of Iowa, 2010


Research Areas
Ecohydraulics

Radek Goska

Design Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 523C Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5235


Email:
radoslaw-goska@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, Warsaw University of Technology, 2002


James Goss

ERD Welder

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: Shop Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-5249


Email:
james-goss-1@uiowa.edu


Heather Hunter

Supply Chain Associate

University Shared Services

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-4827


Email:
heather-a-hunter@uiowa.edu


Phillip Kerr

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1081


Email:
phillip-kerr@uiowa.edu


Lexie King

Application Developer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-3 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6272


Email:
lexie-king@uiowa.edu


Jason Knox

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: Loft Hydraulics Model Annex (HMA)


Phone: (319) 335-6087


Email:
jason-knox@uiowa.edu


Research Areas
CAD designer/drafter

Carmen Langel

Director of Development and Communications, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering


Managing Director, Iowa Flood Center

Iowa Flood Center

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107b Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5841


Email:
carmen-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 1990
MS, The University of Iowa, 1993


Rick Langel

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4102


Email:
richard-langel@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, The University of Iowa, 1996


Tony Loeser

Water Resources Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 3 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 353-0739


Email:
tony-loeser@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, University of Idaho, 2006
MS, University of Idaho, 2011


Troy Lyons

Director of Engineering Services, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 519 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5319


Email:
troy-lyons@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2001
MS, The University of Iowa, 2002


Research Areas
Hydraulic structures
Hydropower
Fish passage improvement
River hydraulics
Physical modeling

Brian Miller

Senior Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423A Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5321


Email:
brian-s-miller@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: https://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/rcs

Connie Mutel

Senior Science Writer (Retired)

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5315


Email:
connie-mutel@uiowa.edu


Personal Website/Resume: https://www.iihr.uiowa.edu/connie-cornelia-f-mutel/

Education
BS, Oberlin College, 1969
MS, University of Colorado, 1973


Laura Myers

Administrative Services Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107-1 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-5253


Email:
laura-l-myers@uiowa.edu


Robby Nace

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 384-2017


Email:
robert-r-nace@uiowa.edu


Diem Nguyen

Electrical Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 17 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Phone: (319) 335-5758


Email:
diem-t-nguyen@uiowa.edu


Sophie Pierce

Research Assistant/Hydrogeologist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340D Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
sophie-pierce@uiowa.edu


Jennie Portwood

Business Analysis Coordinator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 107-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 353-3742


Email:
jennifer-portwood@uiowa.edu


Eric Prill

Systems Administrator

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 423E Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6794


Email:
eric-prill@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2008


Marcela Rojas Oliveros

Hydrologic Engineer

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 223-2 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Email:
marcela-rojasoliveros@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Universidad Javeriana, 2000
MS, Universidad Politecnica Catawnya, 2008


Rick Saeugling

Engineering Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 1 Hydraulics Wind Tunnel Annex (HWTA)


Email:
richard-saeugling@uiowa.edu


Breanna Shea

Public Relations Coordinator

Iowa Flood Center

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-7 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 384-1729


Email:
breanna-shea@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Iowa State University, 2014


Jesse Soukup

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
jesse-soukup@uiowa.edu


Zeb Squires

GIS Analyst

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 301 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
zeb-squires@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,


Thomas Stoeffler

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 105 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Email:
thomas-stoeffler@uiowa.edu


Jackie Stolze

Lead Communication Specialist, IIHR

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 133-6 Stanley Hydraulics Lab (SHL)


Phone: (319) 335-6410


Email:
jackie-stolze@uiowa.edu


Education
BA, The University of Iowa, 1985
MA, Nonfiction Writing Workshop, 1987


Matthew Streeter

Research Associate

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340C Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
matthew-streeter@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, Iowa State University, 2010
MA, Iowa State University, 2013


Stephanie Surine

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 340B Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-3679


Email:
stephanie-tassier-surine@uiowa.edu


Education
MS, University of Massachusetts, 1999


Rosemary Tiwari

Research Support Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Phone: (319) 335-1575


Email:
rosemary-tiwari@uiowa.edu


Jason Vogelgesang

Research Specialist

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 104 Iowa Geological Survey (OIGS, Oakdale)


Phone: (319) 335-4231


Email:
jason-vogelgesang@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa, 2004
MS, The University of Iowa, 2017


Michelle Wienhold

Research Assistant

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 305 Trowbridge Hall (TH)


Email:
michelle-wienhold@uiowa.edu


Education
PhD, University of Central Lancashire, 2014
BA, The University of Iowa, 2000
MS, University College London, 2008


Deb Williard

EES Laboratory Director

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Office: 4105 Seamans Center


Phone: (319) 384-2051


Email:
deborah-williard@uiowa.edu


Education
BS, The University of Iowa,


Mark Wilson

Principal Engineer (Retired)

IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering

IIHR person cameo image

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design