Skip to Content

Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award

The Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award is given biennially for the best paper submitted to the River Flow Conference Series and authored or co-authored by a young researcher*. This award was established by the IAHR Fluvial Hydraulics Committee in September 2014, in memory of Prof. Stephen E. Coleman (1966–2012). Prof. Coleman is remembered for his outstanding and original contributions to fundamental and applied research in the fields of river mechanics and environmental fluid mechanics and his devotion and enthusiasm in the training of the new generations of hydraulic engineers and scientists. The award consists of a certificate and a book gift in the value of 100 Euros for the acquisition of any book published by Taylor and Francis.

Terms of the Award

  1. The paper must be authored or co-authored by a young researcher (as defined below).
  2. The LOC of River Flow Conference will identify the papers to be considered for the award.
  3. The selection of the best paper will be done by an Award Committee composed by members of the Leadership Team of the IAHR FHC. The members of the Award Committee will be selected by the Chair and Vice Chair of the IAHR FHC.
  4. The award will be given during the banquet of River Flow conference series.

*For these purposes, a young researcher is defined as a M.Sc. or Ph.D. student or a researcher who has completed his/her Ph.D. no more than three years before the date of the conference in which the award will be given.

Tags: , , , ,
Last modified on March 31st, 2016
Posted on May 26th, 2015